September 2009
-pdf version

Nominations Sought for Natural Resources Assistance Council in Lucas County

The Natural Resources Assistance Council (NRAC) is an 11-member committee that evaluates applications for and allocates grants from the Clean Ohio Fund in Lucas County. The council is seeking nominations to fill four vacancies and serve a three-year term.

Qualified candidates can submit applications to TMACOG until September 9, 2009. TMACOG administers NRAC District 12 in Lucas County.

To be a candidate for a position on the NRAC committee, an applicant must be appointed by one of the following types of organizations:

  • Local government
  • Conservation or environmental organization
  • Municipal park system or park district
  • Business, realty, planning agency, or port authority
  • Statewide organization representing agriculture or forestry
  • Soil and Water Conservation District

The Clean Ohio Fund was first approved by voters in 2000, and was renewed in 2008. The fund calls for $400 million to preserve natural areas and farmland, protect streams, create outdoor recreation opportunities, and rehabilitate brownfields in urban areas. Between 2000 and 2009, the Clean Ohio fund returned more than $6 million to Lucas County for the protection of open spaces and wetlands. As part of the administration of the Clean Ohio Fund, each Ohio district has a committee (NRAC) to make local decisions about funds returned to that district. NRAC membership is a voluntary position without compensation.

Applicants should submit the completed nomination form, a resume, and letter from their organization in support of their nomination. The deadline for applications is 5 p.m. on September 9, 2009. The nomination form is posted at www.pwc.state.oh.us/NRAC.nomination.form.pdf. More about the Clean Ohio Fund is at www.pwc.state.oh.us/clean_ohio.htm. For more information, contact Kurt Erichsen, vice president of Environmental Planning at TMACOG at 419.241.9155 ext. 126, or kurt@tmacog.org.

Submit completed applications to:
Kurt Erichsen, TMACOG Vice President of Environmental Planning
P.O. Box 9508
Toledo OH 43697-9508

To ensure our e-mails reach your inbox, please add public.info@tmacog.org to your address book.

Share On Facebook

Sign up for our newsletter

Copyright © 2009 Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments