September 2009
-pdf version

Coalition for Passenger Rail in Ohio
and the Midwest

The governors of Ohio and seven other states have agreed to form a Midwest Rail Steering Group to coordinate efforts to secure a share of $8 billion in federal stimulus funds made available for passenger rail under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA). A Memorandum of Understanding was signed by governors of Ohio, Illinois, Michigan, Iowa, Wisconsin, Missouri, Minnesota, and Indiana at a meeting in July. The Mayor of Chicago and ODOT Director Jolene Molitoris also signed the memorandum.

Together they will work to build the nationally prioritized network linking Toledo, Louisville, Indianapolis and other cities to Chicago. Ohio’s 3C Corridor (Cincinnati-Columbus-Cleveland) is part of this system and is also the backbone of the Ohio Hub rail system. ODOT and the Ohio Rail Development commission are working with Amtrak and the state’s freight railroads to complete studies on routes and ridership on the 3C Corridor. The formal application for stimulus funds is due by August 24 or October 2 depending on type of project.

TMACOG’s Passenger Rail Committee has drafted a resolution to recognize Ohio Governor Strickland for his leadership and thank him for his support. More information on the Chicago Hub and Ohio’s rail plans is here.

To ensure our e-mails reach your inbox, please add public.info@tmacog.org to your address book.

Share On Facebook

Sign up for our newsletter

Copyright © 2009 Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments