September 2009
-pdf version

Federal Stimulus Funds Available for Septic
System Repair

The Ohio EPA has announced that up to $5 million in American Recovery and Reinvestment (ARRA) funds will go to 61 Ohio counties, cities, and villages for repair or replacement of failed home sewage treatment systems. Northwest Ohio counties receiving funding are Defiance, Erie, Fulton, Henry, Paulding, Sandusky, Seneca, and Wood. These jurisdictions will be working with local health departments to quickly identify and repair or replace home septic systems. In order for counties to be reimbursed through the ARRA program, all systems must be installed and have had a final inspection by November 1, 2009. Eligible homeowners must meet income requirements and pay 25% of the cost of repair or replacement.

The State of Ohio estimates that one million homes in Ohio use home sewage treatment systems. Of those, approximately 380,000 are failing or are likely to fail in the next five years. This program is expected to repair or replace approximately 500 failed home systems.

To ensure our e-mails reach your inbox, please add public.info@tmacog.org to your address book.

Share On Facebook

Sign up for our newsletter

Copyright © 2009 Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments