August /
September 2011

-PDF version




















TMACOG President Honored with National Leadership Award

Anthony L. Reams, president of TMACOG, received the Walter Scheiber Leadership Award at the June 15 annual meeting of the National Association of Regional Councils (NARC). The award is granted annually to a director or president of a regional council of governments who demonstrates professional and executive management excellence in carrying out regional concepts, approaches, and programs.

Mr. Reams was nominated by John Getchey, executive director of the Eastgate Regional Council of Governments in Youngstown. Those writing letters of support for his nomination included Mr. Paul Tait, executive director, Southeast Michigan Council of Governments; and leaders of the West Michigan Shoreline Regional Economic Development Commission, the Atlanta Regional Commission, and the Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council.

Mr. Reams was particularly cited for his commitment to development of the statewide association of regional councils. Mark Policinski, executive director, Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana Regional Council of Governments said, “Tony Reams demonstrated leadership when he helped rebuild the Ohio Association of Regional Councils. We’re now a more effective organization, recognized by NARC as one of the best state organizations in the country.”

In addition to his work at TMACOG, Mr. Reams has served the Ohio Association of Regional Councils (OARC) as Past President (2006-2007) and he is a current member of the OARC Advocacy Committee. Nationally, he has served many roles on NARC’s Executive Directors Council including Chair (2009-10); First Vice Chair (2007-08); Second Vice Chair (2006-07); and Region IX Representative (2002-06). He is currently Immediate Past Chair of the Executive Directors Council (2010-11) and a member of NARC’s Board of Directors and Financial Affairs Committee.


To ensure our e-mails reach your inbox, please add public.info@tmacog.org to your address book.

Bookmark and Share

Sign up for our newsletter

Copyright © 2011 Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments