Table of


Gas Cap Testing

Traffic Flow Maps Available

Joint TMACOG / SEMCOG meeting

Ohio Conference on Freight - Speakers Announced


Area Stormwater Grants Awarded

Evaluating Stormwater Infrastructure

208 Plan

Member Highlight:
Erie Township

Port of Monroe

July & August 2013
pdf version


Have you considered the state of your gas cap recently? A leaky gas cap could cost a motorist a full tank of gas every year, and the vapors from gas and diesel fuels contribute to the formation of ground level ozone. Older cars are most likely to have leaky caps but over the many years of gas cap testing TMACOG has discovered that no car is more

Traffic Flow Maps Available

Planners and developers interested in traffic volume on area roadways may contact TMACOG and request an updated Traffic Flow Map. The maps are complete for data collected through 2012. Maps are available for the entire TMACOG region (Lucas and Wood counties and western portions of Ottawa and Sandusky counties in Ohio, and in southern Monroe County, Michigan) or for specific areas within those more

SEMCOG / TMACOG Joint Transportation Meeting

TMACOG’s transportation staff works regularly with the transportation planners of the Southeast Michigan Council of Governments (SEMCOG) to coordinate plans across the state line. The groups exchange staff on committees to coordinate roadway developments, discuss rail initiatives, and ensure communication on a range of issues.

TMACOG and SEMCOG hold a joint meeting annually. At the June 25 meeting held this year, TMACOG shared two presentations with Michigan counterparts. Transportation Project Manager Diane Reamer-Evans presented a review of the Access Ohio 2040 Long Range Plan, and Transportation Public Administration Specialist Christine Drennen analyzed the Ohio Statewide Freight Study.

Ohio Conference on Freight – Speakers Announced

“The Drive to Innovate”

The agenda for the 2013 Ohio Conference on Freight is being finalized and the speakers confirmed. The conference is Thursday & Friday, September 12 & 13 and will be held at the Kalahari Convention Center in more


Stormwater Research Funded

The Ohio EPA has allocated several grants to Lucas County through the Great Lakes Restoration Initiative (GLRI) Surface Water Improvement Fund (SWIF). The grants will fund a variety of innovative stormwater management projects around the county. There is funding for another round of grants that will probably fund three more more


Measuring the Value of Stormwater Infrastructure

Because the western Lake Erie basin has experienced significant harmful algal blooms over the last several years, federal funds have come to the region to support the design and installation of various stormwater management more

208 Plan Adopted

The TMACOG Board of Trustees voted to adopt an update to the Areawide Water Quality Management Plan (the 208 Plan) at their June 19 meeting. With that approval, the plan will be submitted to the Ohio EPA and Michigan Department of Environmental Quality for certification.

The 208 Plan describes how local communities cooperate and coordinate sewers, sewerage, and water treatment plans to ensure clean water and to plan for future development. The local 208 Plan involves communities in Lucas, Ottawa, Sandusky, and Wood counties in Ohio and Bedford, Erie, and Whiteford townships of Monroe County, Michigan. The plan is important to the maintenance of an efficient system. In Ohio, the 208 Plan is especially significant because the Director of the Ohio EPA must deny permits that conflict with the plan.

MEMBER NEWS_________________________

Member Highlight: Erie Township - Michigan

Erie Township was a founding member of TMACOG in 1968. Leaders in the small township see the value in regional cooperation, but they still want to maintain their country lifestyle. When a master plan for the township was developed in 2012, public comments to the planning group made it clear that residents value the peace and quiet above all else. The township is zoned and the 4.500 residents want to keep any industry in the region currently zoned more

Port of Monroe Director Selected for National Committee

Paul C. LaMarre III, director of the Port of Monroe in Monroe, Michigan, has been appointed to the National Freight Advisory Committee by U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood. Advisory committee members provide recommendations aimed at improving the national freight transportation system. The committee is comprised of 47 voting members from outside of the Department of Transportation. Members serve two-year terms. Mr. LaMarre is the only representative from the northwest Ohio and southeast Michigan region.

The Port of Monroe is a member of TMACOG. Mr. LaMarre is an alternate member of the TMACOG Board of Trustees and has participated in the activities of the Northwest Ohio Passenger Rail Association (NOPRA).

Back to Top

To ensure our e-mails reach your inbox, please add to your address book.

Sign up for our newsletter

Bookmark and Share

Copyright © 2013 Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments

Upcoming Events

Ohio Conference on Freight
September 12 & 13, at the Kalahari Convention Center, Sandusky
Christine Drennen, 419.241.9155 ext. 119