May & June 2013
pdf version































Member Highlight
Northwestern Water and Sewer District

The Northwestern Water & Sewer District (NWSD) is a regional governmental agency operating under ORC 6119 that builds and maintains water and sewer service for customers in Wood County. The district was organized in 1994 to assume the water and sewer operations of the Wood County Sanitary Engineer’s Office. A nine-member board of trustees oversees operations for service to 15,000 users throughout the county.

NWSD builds new water and sewer lines to convey water and waste water to treatment facilities. Residents and business usually welcome new water supply which can improve fire protection, improve pressure, and reduce sulphur taste. However, many object to being required to hook up to sewers and the continuing cost of service. The district works as efficiently as possible to control costs. Funding is secured from grants, stimulus funding, low interest loans, assessments, and revenue bond financing.

On April 21, NWSD invited friends to an open house and building rededication at their facility on Middleton Pike in Bowling Green. They were celebrating a remodel and expansion of facilities which began in 2011. The day’s events included an open house, a fishing derby, fire department demonstration, and a rededication ceremony.

The year 2013 will see the biggest budget that Northwestern Water and Sewer District has ever managed. For example, less than 10 years ago the district averaged $3 million to $5 million per year on sewer and water projects. In 2013, that number is nearly $20 million. Once the current slate of projects is completed, the only municipality without municipal sewerage in Wood County will be Bairdstown.

The District plays an integral part in regional economic development as well. They have been involved in every major expansion or new location in Wood County including CSX in Henry Township, FedEx in Perrysburg Township and Northwood as well as Crossroads and Eastwood Commerce Center developments, to name a few.

The District represents 20 townships, 14 municipalities and does operations contract work for another 15 villages and private plant owners.

Maps showing the district’s programs are available on the NWSD website.

To ensure our e-mails reach your inbox, please add public.info@tmacog.org to your address book.

Bookmark and Share

Sign up for our newsletter

Copyright © 2013 Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments