February & March 2014
pdf version











Functional Road Classification

TMACOG planners, area jurisdictions, and members of TMACOG’s System Performance and Monitoring Committee (the SPAM Committee) are at work on a system-wide road classification project that is done every 10 years. TMACOG is addressing roads in Lucas and Wood counties and parts of Fulton and Ottawa counties that fall in the Toledo and Bowling Green urbanized areas including the Wood County portion of Fostoria. The project involves classifying area roads by the amount of use they get and how they work as part of the transportation system.

“Federal appropriation for road repair is determined based on what category the roadway falls into,” explained TMACOG Transportation Planner Lisa Householder. “Importantly, the state of Ohio designates only a limited number of miles for each category.” The seven classes of roads are 1) interstates, 2) other freeways/expressways, 3) principal arterials, 4) minor arterials, 5) collectors, 6) minor collectors, and 7) local streets. Within urban areas, all but local streets are eligible for federal funds for upkeep. In rural areas, all except minor collectors and local streets are eligible.

TMACOG will submit regional recommendations to ODOT and the Federal Highway Administration at the end of February. Those recommendations will be reviewed as part of a whole state plan and some classification changes might be made at the state level. TMACOG coordinates this project with the Southeast Michigan Council of Governments (SEMCOG), which is responsible for classification in Monroe County. How the roads are classified affects long range planning. TMACOG is just beginning to develop a new long range plan looking out to 2045.


To ensure our e-mails reach your inbox, please add public.info@tmacog.org to your address book.

Bookmark and Share

Sign up for our newsletter

Copyright © 2014 Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments