Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments





Home | Water Quality | 208 Water Quality Management Plan


208 Water Quality Management Plan

The TMACOG Areawide Water Quality Management Plan is a comprehensive document under the Clean Water Act of 1972.  It is a statement on behalf of our region (Lucas, Ottawa, Sandusky, and Wood Counties in Ohio and Bedford, Erie, and Whiteford Townships of Monroe County in Michigan) as to what we — all of us — will do to meet the goals of the Clean Water Act.

You may often hear of this document called a “208 Plan” — because Areawide Water Quality Management Planning comes from Section 208 of the Act.  In Ohio, there are six “Areawide” agencies that maintain 208 Plans for regions around major cities.  All six of these Areawide Plans are part of the Ohio’s Statewide Water Quality Management Plan.

TMACOG’s 208 Plan was originally completed in 1980 and is updated annually with current changes in environmental law and regulation, information on the region’s water quality, and local infrastructure needs for sanitary sewers, wastewater treatment plants, onsite sewage systems, and stormwater management.  The most recent version approved by the TMACOG Board of Trustees is available below.

·         Areawide Water Quality Management Plan: all 8 chapters

Summary of 2019 Updates
>> Areawide Water Quality Management Plan (208 Plan) 2019 Update NEW
>> En Español NEW  

The links in the upper righthand corner of this screen let you download the current plan and executive summaries of individual chapters, new drafts of chapters that are pending approval, and each of the individual sewerage Facility Planning Areas (FPAs).

For comments or questions, please contact:
Kris Barnswell, Water Quality Planner
419.241.9155 ext. 1123 or


>> Current Plan
>> New Drafts
>> Individual FPAs






300 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Suite 300 | Toledo, OH 43604 | Phone: 419.241.9155 | Fax: 419.241.9116
Copyright © Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments. All rights reserved.