Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments
Home | Water Quality | Portage River Basin Council
Portage River Basin Council

Mission Statement
The Portage River Basin Council formed in 1994 to preserve and restore the integrity of all waterways in the Portage River watershed; promote the health and safety of persons living, working, visiting, or enjoying recreational activities there; protect the property of its landowners; safeguard its wildlife habitat; preserve its natural and scenic beauty; and encourage community activity that will sustain the watershed’s unique qualities now and into the future.
PRBC Operating Procedures

PRBC Leadership
Gordon Bowman, Mayor, Village of Pemberville
Matt Damschroder, Mayor, Village of Elmore
Coordinator: Sara Guiher

2019 Meetings

The Portage River Basin Council meets three times a year

(April 2, August 6, November 12)


Tuesday, August 6, 2 p.m.

Port Clinton City Council Chambers, 1868 E. Perry St., Port Clinton, OH 43452
Agenda | Minutes

Tuesday, April 2, 2 p.m.

Pemberville Opera House

Agenda | Minutes

>>Portage River Basin Council Archive

Portage River Watershed Plan
The Portage River Watershed Action Plan was endorsed by Ohio EPA and Ohio DNR in 2012. Download the plan using these links:
Portage River Watershed Plan large file
Portage River Watershed Plan - Appendices large file
Portage River Watershed Plan Fact Sheet

Portage River Water Trail

In 2018, members of the PRBC began working towards a Water Trail designation on the Portage River. The goal for designation is summer 2020. Check back regularly for updates on this exciting project!

ODNR Water Trail Program

Proposed Portage River Water Trail map

Public Meetings (flyer)
All 7 - 8 p.m.

Wednesday, May 15
Elmore Community Center

Tuesday, May 21
Ottawa County Fairgrounds

Thursday, May 23
Pemberville Opera House

Monday, July 15
Port Clinton City Hall

300 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Suite 300 | Toledo, OH 43604 | Phone: 419.241.9155 | Fax: 419.241.9116
Copyright © Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments. All rights reserved.